Mandatory Reporter Training - New Course Offered
New Requirements Announced
During Session 1 of the 88th General Assembly in 2019, the Iowa Legislature passed House File 731 which changes Iowa's Mandatory Reporter Training guidelines.
The Department of Human Services (DHS) is now the state agency responsible for the course curriculum. Information from the DHS website follows:
- Removes the Iowa Department of Public Health’s responsibility to review and approve mandatory reporter training curricula.
- Requires the Department of Human Services to develop and provide the core training curriculum for all mandatory reporters in Iowa.
- Allows for an employer to provide supplemental training as it relates to their professional practice, in addition to the core training curriculum provided by DHS.
- Maintains that every mandatory reporter must complete 2 hours of training within six months of employment or self-employment, unless otherwise specified by federal regulations, and requires one hour of additional training every 3 years.
- The child and dependent adult abuse trainings can no longer be combined into one 2-hour course. Both the child and dependent adult abuse core trainings will be 2 hours each.
- All mandatory reporters are required to take the core (2-hour) training initially, but will be allowed to take a one hour recertification training every three years thereafter so long as they do so prior to the three-year expiration period.
- Clarifies that all valid mandatory reporter training certificates issued prior to July 1, 2019 remain effective for 5 years.
What do you need to know as a licensed nurse?
1) Certificates of completion for mandatory reporter training taken before 7/1/2019, are still valid and may be used to document completion of the requirements.
2) After 7/1/2019, you must follow the new course requirements listed above. If you have not been required to take the Mandatory Reporter training before, because you do not have patients or clients who are pediatric or dependent adults, then you are not REQUIRED to take the new course. However, if you are audited when you renew your nursing license, your employer will need to send a statement stating that you do not regularly examine, attend, counsel or treat children or dependent adults in Iowa.
Iowa Board of Nursing renewal applications may not indicate this change as of 7/1/2019, but the changes are in process. Iowa Administrative Code (IAC) 655, chapters 3 and 5 will also be amended to reflect the new law. In the meantime, follow the DHS requirements.
If a licensee is audited and the required training was taken prior to 7/1/2019, you may submit a certificate that is still effective. After 7/1/2019, if you need to take a course, you must show proof that you meet the new requirements established by the DHS. The new coursework may be counted as 2.0 contact hours of nursing continuing education, for each course you take. However, the certificate only shows social work credits at this time. Any additional questions should be directed to the DHS.